Buddhism, Suffering, and the new iPhone.

The Story of the Four

images“Life is suffering.” So the Buddha said. Or so it is said the Buddha said.

With such a statement it is easy to conceive of Buddhism as pessimistic, even nihilistic, to say nothing of the man whose mouth such a downer of a statement came.

But to stop at “suffering” is to grossly misunderstand the Buddha and his teachings, for “suffering” is a poor translation for the Sanskrit word dukkha, which most (if not all) English translations gloss as “suffering.”

Now it is true that “suffering,” or dukkha is the focal point of the Buddha’s core teachings, known as the Four Noble Truths: 1) There is Suffering (not “Life is suffering”); 2) The Origin of Suffering; 3) The Cessation of Suffering; and 4) The Path Leading to the Cessation of Suffering, more commonly known as the Noble Eightfold Path.

So what are we to make of this notion of…

View original post 858 more words

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

1 Response to Buddhism, Suffering, and the new iPhone.

  1. jbertetta says:

    Thanks for the reblog Chico. Ayouve got a great site here

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out /  Change )

Google photo

You are commenting using your Google account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s