Jesus poses under the Bodhi Tree

The Salmon Yatra

Today’s Daily Prompt didn’t appeal to me, so I thought I’d share my thoughts on Jesus under the Bodhi Tree instead.

Yes, I meant to write that..and no, I got my facts right 🙂 Buddha is known to have sat under the Bodhi tree and achieved enlightenment..and Jesus..well, at  least we have no record of him sitting under a Bodhi tree. And yet, there is this:

Jesus under the Bodhi Tree Jesus under the Bodhi Tree (seen at St.Antony’s Church, Bangalore)

This is a piece that covers a whole wall in St.Antony’s Church here in Bangalore. I’ve been passing this Jesus for over 2 years now and was never inclined to sit and talk to Him when He’s sitting like that..all I could say was, “Seriously, Jesus?? What were they thinking when they made this piece of art?” I assumed the artist was making Jesus relatable to the Indian demographic, but whatever his intention, it…

View original post 729 more words

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

