The Seven Worlds


Tantra has been mainly a folk religion. The Tantrikas were believers in Yoga and the opening of cakras, and worshipped Siva-Sakti, or, more usually, Devi, the mother-goddess.

The collection of Tantrika lore is called Samhita or the Agamas, which means that it has come from before (through a long line of teachers and disciples). The Agamas has four angas (limbs) or portions.

The first limb is knowledge. Here it is closest to the Upanishads. The Brahma doctrine that we find in the Mahanirvana Tantra is a mixture of the philosophies of the Upanishads and the Samkhya. The second limb is Yoga. Kriya, or practices, form the

View original post 53 more words

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in: Logo

You are commenting using your account. Log Out /  Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )


Connecting to %s