Buddhist Scripture: the Four Foundations of Mindfulness

Mahasatipatthana Sutta
Translated by U Jotika & U Dhamminda

• Introduction
• Preamble

I. Kayanupassana (Contemplation on the Body)
i. Anapana Pabba (Section on In and Out Breathing)
ii. Iriyapatha Pabba (Section on Postures)
iii. Sampajanna Pabba (Section on Clear Understanding)
iv. Patikulamanasika Pabba (Section on Contemplation of impurities)
v. Dhatumanasika Pabba (Section on Contemplation of Elements)
vi. Navasivathika Pabba (Section on Nine Stages of Corpses)

II. Vedananupassana (Contemplation on Feelings)

III. Cittanupassana (Contemplation on the Mind)

IV. Dhammanupassana (Contemplation on Dhammas)
i. Nivarana Pabba (Section on Hindrances)
ii. Khandha Pabba (Section on Aggregates)
iii. Ayatana Pabba (Section on Sense Bases)
iv. Bojjhanga Pabba (Section on Enlightenment Factors)
v. Sacca Pabba (Section on Noble Truths)
a. Dukkhasacca Pabba (Section on the Noble Truth of Dukkha)
b. Samudayasacca Pabba (Section on the Noble Truth of the Cause of Dukkha)
c. Nirodhasacca Pabba (Section on the Noble Truth of the Cessation of Dukkha)
d. Maggasacca Pabba (Section on the Path Leading to the Cessation of Dukkha)

• Notes

To our preceptor the late Venerable Taungpulu Kaba-Aye Sayadaw of Burma

© U Jotika and U Dhamminda, Migadavun Monastery,
Ye Chan Oh Village, Maymyo, Burma. 1986.

This entry was posted in Sedona and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out /  Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )


Connecting to %s